FCPS
Emergency
Blackboard
Keep in Touch
Giving

Rounded Rectangle Edges
Home > Research & Academics > Humanities > English

English Department

Social Studies Department

 

 

English

All students at Thomas Jefferson will take four credits of English.  All courses are taught at the honors level, and provide students with a solid foundation in reading, writing, critical thinking, and communication.

As freshmen, students take English 9 as part of IBET (Integrated Biology, English, & Technology).  In addition to the traditional grounding in English classics (Romeo & Juliet, The Odyssey), students participate in a year-long integrated research project, during which they learn the basics of science writing and research that they will need throughout their TJ career.

As sophomores and juniors, students first take English 10 as part of Humanities 1 (World literature teamed with World History & Geography 2), and then English 11 as part of Humanities 2 (American literature teamed with either AP US History or honors US/VA History).  These teamed courses emphasize connections between history and literature while continuing the emphasis on analytical writing, responsible research, and critical thinking.

Seniors have several options in English, including either AP Literature & Composition or AP Language & Composition as stand-alone courses, Senior Seminar (AP Literature teamed with AP US Government), or Global Studies (AP Language teamed with AP US Government). 

Because we are committed to students having a comprehensive Humanities education, several elective English courses are also offered, including Journalism, Photojournalism, Broadcast Journalism, and Film Studies. We also offer advanced English-language support to students who are non-native speakers of English (including current ESOL and Formerly Limited English Proficient students) through our Academic Language program.

Courses

Below are the courses offered through the English department. See the Online Course Guide for specific course descriptions.

  • English 9 (IBET)
  • English 10 (HUM1)
  • English 11 (HUM2)
  • English 12
  • AP Literature & Composition
  • AP English Literature (Senior Seminar)
  • AP English Language & Composition
  • AP English Language / Global Studies
  • Journalism 1
  • Journalism 2
  • Journalism 3
  • Journalism 4
  • Photojournalism 1
  • Photojournalism 2
  • Photojournalism 3
  • Broadcast Journalism
  • Film Study
Faculty

Jill Burdick-Zupancic

picture of Jill Burdick-Zupancic
JEBurdickzup@fcps.edu

Denise Castaldo
Division Managerpicture of Denise Castaldo
DCastaldo@fcps.edu

Maria Gilbert

picture of Maria Gilbert
MDGilbert@fcps.edu

Stephanie Glotfelty

picture of Stephanie Glotfelty
SLGlotfelty@fcps.edu

Nancy Glover

picture of Nancy Glover
NEGlover@fcps.edu

Erinn Harris

picture of Erinn Harris
EHarris1@fcps.edu

Suzette Henry

picture of Suzette Henry
SHenry@fcps.edu

Lona Klein

Picture of Lona Klein
LCKlein@fcps.edu

Mary Beth Kochman

picture of Mary Beth Kochman
MBKochman@fcps.edu

John Laffey

picture of John Laffey
JWLaffey@fcps.edu

Susie Lebryk-Chao

picture of Susie Lebryk-Chao
SLebrykChao@fcps.edu

Kate Lewis

Picture of Kate Lewis
CBLewis2@fcps.edu

Mike Miller

picture of Mike Miller
MHMiller2@fcps.edu

Emily Orser

picture of Emily Orser
EOrser@fcps.edu

Vincent Pollet

picture not available
VPPollet@fcps.edu

Jennifer Seavey

picture not available
JASeavey@fcps.edu

Sherwood Williams

picture not available
SOWilliams1@fcps.edu

     
Rounded Rectangle Edges